Quebec City Spartan Super

I have entered the world of blogging.  Why?  I wanted a place to chronicle my adventures with Obstacle Course Racing or OCR, my love of health/fitness, and food!

I have grown to love OCR over the past few years, as it never fails to challenge me.  I am not an elite, and I never will be.  I am okay with that.  I do it for the challenge as it is me against the mountain.

The picture above is from this past weekend at the Quebec City Spartan Super at Stoneham Resort.  I believe this was the second hill at the middle where we reached the crest of the hill.  I am staring at the pancake carry or sandbag carry.  It was a short trip up and around with my pancake.  I was never more glad for a short carry in my life.  The main obstacle at the race was the hills.  It was equivalent to climbing the CN Tower 2.5 times, or 425 flights.  My main weakness, is cardio.  I am a lifter, I love all things lifting.  I hate all things cardio. So therefore this race was not my jam. I do well with the carries, in general.  The beauty of racing in the open heats is that you can help each other out.  That is the beauty of OCR, the community.  People cheering you on, and helping you over obstacles.  Thanks to this, I was able to defeat the Platinum Rig Sternum Check, the eight foot walls, with some coaching from the volunteers.  I ended up doing 45 burpees – the punishment for missing an obstacle – 15 of the burpees were absorbed by a volunteer at the inverted wall, and I had 30 burpees to do at the rope climb.

I do my races best when I am alone.  I hate making people wait for me, and I hate thinking that I wrecking their race.  So it was me and the hills last Sunday.  However, I normally have a cheering squad at the finish line, and this past Sunday was no exception.  My Canadian Mudd Queen teammate, Krisstina, was waiting for me at the end of my very long race, and we hugged and cried at the end.  Heck, I still start crying when I think of that. This race for me was a  very emotional one, I never wanted to quit a race so bad in my life.  I cried on the very first hill, 15 minutes in.  I texted some people close to me that I wanted to quit, I wanted someone to validate me in my quitting.  But thanks to my loving friends and husband, they kept me on the course.  And having Krisstina to support me at the end showed me true friendship.  So thank you to Johanna Lopez, Laura Skoblenick, Cad, and Krisstina Davis for keeping me out there, you will never know how much it meant to me.

3 thoughts on “Quebec City Spartan Super

  1. So happy for you! I can relate to your feeling of not wanting to hold anyone back… I always worry about that too. You did amazing!

    Like

  2. So glad you kept at it and showed yourself that you could do it…and I know people mean well when they say if I/you can do it, anyone can…I have never believed that…what you did speaks for what you can do, noone else’s…

    Like

Leave a comment